In English

The Swedish Project Academy

Societate crescimus – Through collaboration, we develop

The aim of the Swedish Project Academy is to promote development and application of the project form of organizing. The Academy is a meeting place for nationally renowned professionals with high competence in project management. Members are elected based on project management competence and interest, representing private corporations, public sector organisations, voluntary associations and universities. In practice, this means that one third of the members are academics, one third project management consultants, and one third project managers employed in a range of organizations. According to the statutes, the Academy can have no more than 31 members – not counting retired members and Friends of the Academy.

The Academy was founded in 1994. Since then, it actively follows knowledge development within the project management field and stimulates cross-sectorial dialogues on project-related research and its practical applications. The Academy encourages new initiatives within research and development, primarily in the intersection between universities, public administration and private businesses.

Every year, the Academy presents the Swedish Project Manager of the Year award. A number of Academy members have received the award in the past. The Academy also presents an annual national award for the best master or bachelor thesis within the project management field.

Academy members convene every year at the Solemn Meeting in November, the Annual Meeting in March/April, and the Autumn Start in September. Additional meetings, seminars and study visits are often held.

The Academy is led by a Highest Decision-making Board, organized by the Chairperson of the Academy.

Academy officials:

Chairperson of the Academy: Dr Tomas Gustavsson, Assistant Professor, Karlstad University, Karlstad.

Deputy chairperson of the Academy: Tina Karrbom-Gustavsson, Associate Professor, KTH

Secretary of the Academy: Per Zachrisson, Senior Director, Ericsson AB, Stockholm

Academy Treasurer: Christer Claesson, Project director, Trafikverket, Gothenburg..

Other operative responsibilities:

Chairperson of the Swedish Project Manager of the year Award: Anna Jerbrant, Assistant Professor, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm..

Chairperson of the annual national master/bachelor thesis award: Dr Johann Packendorff, Professor, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm.

Chairperson of the Research Committee: Mats Ragnarsson, Senior Partner, Wenell Management, Gothenburg.

Chairperson of the Recruitment Committee : Tina Karrbom-Gustavsson, Associate Professor, KTH

Web editor: Dr Johann Packendorff, Professor, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm.

List of chairpersons:

2022- Dr Tomas Gustavsson, Assistant Professor, Karlstad University, Karlstad
2014-2022 Dr Anna Nilsson-Ehle, Director, Gothenburg
2004-2014 Dr Anders Söderholm, Professor, Mid-Sweden University, Sundsvall, and Director General, Swedish Higher Education Authority, Stockholm
2000-2004 Dr Rolf A Lundin, Professor, Jönköping International Business School, Jönköping

1994-2000 Dr Jan Odhnoff, Professor, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm